Not a Member yet? Username: Password:      
Tour Feeds
Top Players Battle Out @ MayBank Malaysia Open




Defending Champion Anthony Kang and Arjun Atwal Return to the tournament


Kuala Lumpur, 3 February 2010 – Event organisers today announced the first line up of players for the Maybank Malaysia Open 2010. PGA member K.J. Choi will be headlining the field of players in the 156-strong line up competing for top honours. Joining Choi in a clash of the champions from the various tours are the familiar faces of two-time Maybank Malaysian Open Thonchai Jaidee and Asian Tour’s Prayad Marksaeng. European Tour’s Darren Clarke and Chris Wood, together with Japan’s Shingo Katayama and PGA member Daniel Chopra, round off the line up at the much anticipated national Open.

Choi has amassed a stellar record of being the first Korean-born player to earn his PGA Tour Card, and the first Asian to break into the World Top 10 player ranking. 2009 saw Choi win inAsia at the Iskandar Johor Open and all eyes will be on him when he tees up at the West Course in Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club (KLGCC).


“I am excited to be taking part in this year’s Maybank Malaysian Open,” said Choi. “I have heard great things about this event and am looking forward to the warm Malaysian hospitality that I always receive when I’m in the country.”


Joining K.J. Choi is fellow PGA member Daniel Chopra who has a Swedish-Indian parentage and also plays on the Asian Tour.


Event organisers also confirmed that the 2008 and 2009 champions of the Maybank Malaysian Open, Arjun Atwal and Anthony Kang, will be returning to the country’s shores for the prestigious Open.


Atwal won his second Maybank Malaysian Open title in 2008 overcoming then defending champion Peter Hedblom in a play-off. His first Maybank Malaysian Open title was in 2003. Atwal is also the first Indian player to secure membership to the US PGA Tour and will play there through to the 2010 season.


Anthony Kang had a story book ending with a thrilling one stroke victory at last year’s Maybank Malaysian Open, earning him a two-year exception on the European Tour. He will be back in full force this year, hoping to defend his title and make an impressive start to the new season.


The 2009 Asian Tour Order of Merit champion Thongchai Jaidee will be returning to an event he has won twice and he will expect to put in a strong performance in familiar territory.


“I have won this tournament twice and it would be great if I could come back and win the title again,” said Jaidee. “We always have a good time here and it will be even better if I can put in a good showing.”


European Tour players Darren Clarke and Chris Wood also join the cast come March. Clarke has won many fans with his passionate play and dedicated approach to the game, while Wood is an up and coming player who capped a tremendous debut season on The European Tour by being named the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year for 2009. Wood’s best finish to date is tied third at the 2009 Open Championship and he has been touted as a player with great potential.


Japan Golf Tour’s Shingo Katayama attracts attention wherever he goes with his flamboyant dressing and is often called “Cowboy Shingo" due to his distinctive cowboy-style hat that he wears on the course. He will definitely be a crowd pleaser as he takes to the course come March.


Meanwhile Maybank Chairman, Tan Sri Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor said, “We at Maybank are truly excited over the forthcoming Maybank Malaysian Open event. We do this to promote the sport and put Malaysian golf on the map. This year will be extra special as Maybank celebrates its 50th anniversary while the Open is in its 49th year. It is indeed a time of celebration and with the players we have announced so far, we are confident that golfing fans will come out in large numbers to see their heroes in action.”


Players from both the Asian and The European Tour have this event marked off on their calendar as a tournament not to be missed, with the attractive prize purse and vital Race to Dubaipoints for those from Europe, including a two year exemption on The European Tour for the winner.


Datuk Robin Loh, President of the Malaysian Golf Association added, “I would like to urge all golfing enthusiasts to come and watch ‘live’ the Maybank Malaysian Open 2010 at Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club from March 4-7 and witness the likes of KJ Choi, Arjun Atwal, Darren Clarke and defending champion, Anthony Kang battle it out for the top honours at this event while at the same time rooting for our local players to claim their right to win their National Open.” 


“Over the years, the Maybank Malaysian Open has earned its reputation of being the most prestigious tournament in the country and a premier event on the golfing calendar,” said John Eu, Chief Executive Officer of GlobalOne. “So it is great to see the high calibre of players that are coming and we look forward to a strong crowd coming out to support their favourite player, both international and local.”


A star-studded field is expected at the 49th edition of the Maybank Malaysian Open, with the local players competing with some of the world’s best players for the championship title. With a US$2 million prize purse up on offer, spectators can expect an exciting tournament this March. The four day co-sanctioned event runs from 4 to 7 March 2010 on the West Course of the newly renovated KLGCC.

Past winners of the Malaysian Open






Anthony Kang (USA)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Arjun Atwal  (India)

Kota Permai Golf & Country Club


Peter Hedblom  (Sweden)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Charlie Wi  (Korea)

Kuala Lumpur Golf & Country Club


Thongchai Jaidee  (Thailand)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Thongchai Jaidee  (Thailand)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Arjun Atwal  (India)

The Mines Golf Resort


Alastair Forsyth  (Scotland)

Royal Selangor Golf Club


Vijay Singh  (Fiji)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Yeh Wei-Tze  (C. Taipei)

Templer Park Country Club


Gerrry Norquist  (USA)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Ed Fryatt  (United Kingdom)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Lee Westwood  (England)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Steve Flesch  (USA)

Templer Park Country Club


Clay Devers  (USA)

Templer Park Country Club


Joakim Haeggman  (Sweden)

Royal Selangor Golf Club


Gerrry Norquist  (USA)

Royal Selangor Golf Club


Vijay Singh  (Fiji)

Bukit Jambul Country Club


Rick Gibson  (Canada)

Kelab Golf Negara Subang


Glen Day  (USA)

Royal Perak Golf Club


Jeff Maggert  (USA)

Ayer Keroh Country Club


Tray Tyner  (USA)

Saujana Golf & Country Club


Asian Tour

Augusta National admits first women members
Augusta National, home of the Masters golf tournament, said Monday the exclusive ... more
Keegan Bradley: From Mountaintop to Major Champion
Keegan Bradley: From mountaintop to major champion JOHNS CREEK, Ga. (AP)—K ... more
TRAILBLAZER: Ballistic Whacks with Octane! introduces our TrailBlazers. With so many golf equipment being l ... more